NATE DRAUGHN

Grip Saver!

Injured my left index finger a few weeks ago, from overuse I think. Pulley injury around the middle knuckle. I have been icing it a lot and trying not to climb on it too much, but I’m having a hard time. It is getting better though. The first day it hurt to put any weight on it. Now, I can grab two or so pad edges without pain. Pretty psyched! Hopefully in the next week or so it will be ok again.

I’m trying to stay optimistic. Focusing mainly on progression in physical strength, I don’t usually worry about technique too much. Being injured though it’s nice to be able to slow down and really try figuring out the best way to set my body up for a move.

Metolius hooked it up with a Grip Saver!… It helps strengthen opposing muscles we don’t use very often to provide support and balance around the fingers and hands.

2 responses

  1. Jeremy Jennings

    I hurt my A2 pulley in the spring and it has taken forever to heal. I’ve found that just resting isn’t enough. I noticed slopers don’t hurt it, so I’ve resumed training on open hand holds, and then I’ve been using my grip saver a bunch and working opposing muscles. It definitely feels better now that I have been using and getting blood flow to it. Physical therapy is good, and rest alone just doesn’t seem to speed up the healing process. Stay psyched though, it will heal up! Doug hooked me up with some old school climbing movies to keep psyche up while I was injured.

    July 17, 2012 at 3:54 am

  2. natedraughn

    Thanks for psyche and motivation! It is killing me not being able to push it like I want! In time!!

    July 18, 2012 at 3:50 am

Leave a Reply

