NATE DRAUGHN

Tilted and Other Kushh

Yo!

The other day I finished off my goal for the season, completing a line at the lily boulders called Tilted World(V13). James Litz put it a up a while back and Jimmy came through with the second ascent last year. I worked it 13 different days over the course of the season, trying to make some form of progress every trip. Over the first 5 or 6 days, I was stuck just trying to figure the moves. The crux for me was linking two moves together… pretty much the whole bloc. A middle move out a roof and the last move with a crazy bicycle. It also took a lot of energy to get my toe hooks to stay to transition into the last moves. Two weekends ago I had a break through, linking the two cruxes together for the first time and also did the first crux move from the start for the first time. That was after 2 or 3 hours of already trying it that day. I had it all dialed in and knew if I moved fast, I could do it! So over the weekend, I went out there fresh, knew what to do, got through the first crux still feeling fresh and turned it on.  I keep telling myself, “this is it. Try your best and stayed psyched! blahh blahh blahhh… I hate this junk. Should have some footage soon. Wish I had it right now so I could just post a video… Hard explaining boulders on paper. Can’t get motivated to do it.

The rest of the year will be training time, work, trying to save some cash for a trip Squamish this summer hopefully and a trip to boone to try and finish off some old projects…. Senderella, The Wataugan, Big Brick!! Yeah buddy!!

Nate D.

One response

  1. SWWWWWAGGGG Bruh! you pull hella hard. Me and my buddies (a bunch of highschoolers who climb in SO iLL on the weekends) love to hear about people crushing NOT in colorado, especially people who rep the southern sandstone. Keep crushin dawq. get giddy and stay superhumble ha ha ha

    December 15, 2013 at 11:44 pm

Leave a Reply

